How your MP voted on a snap general election

In his sixth Commons defeat since taking workplace, Boris Johnson has did not get the backing of MPs for a snap general election.

A complete of 293 MPs voted in favour of a snap election, whereas 46 voted in opposition to it.

But 303 MPs didn’t vote, that means Mr Johnson didn’t have the help of the 434 MPs required to carry an election on 15 October.

This is how the votes stacked up:

The overwhelming majority of Conservative MPs backed the prime minister – however six didn’t vote, together with the prime minister’s brother, Jo Johnson.

Last week, he resigned the Conservative whip and mentioned he would stand down on the subsequent election.

Other Tory MPs who didn’t vote have been:

More from House Of Parliament

Suella Braverman

James Duddridge

Keith Simpson

Chloe Smith

Caroline Spelman

To learn the way your MP voted, put their title into the search subject under.

You can even search by constituency.

Opposition events largely united to disclaim Boris Johnson a general election, with many selecting to abstain from voting.

Labour, the Liberal Democrats, the SNP and Plaid Cymru mentioned forward of voting that they’d vote in opposition to the federal government or abstain.

They mentioned they didn’t need an election till an extension had been agreed with the EU to stop a no-deal Brexit.

But one Liberal Democrat politician, Sarah Wollaston, voted with the federal government.

Almost the entire Labour Party determined to not vote, though 23 selected to oppose the election, together with Stella Creasy and Karen Buck.

Change UK MPs additionally both opposed the federal government or abstained from voting.

To Top