Jurgen Klopp believes Jose Callejon dived to win a penalty for Napoli as Liverpool fell to a 2-Zero defeat in Italy.
There was little between the 2 sides in Naples on Tuesday evening, however with 10 minutes to go, and the rating at 0-0, the referee pointed to the penalty spot after Reds full-back Andy Robertson was judged to have felled Callejon.
Dries Mertens stepped up to rating the penalty, earlier than Fernando Llorente added a second in harm time to give the Italians a 2-0 win over the European champions.
However, Reds manager Klopp is for certain that the spot-kick shouldn’t have been given and that Callejon was already falling to the bottom earlier than any contact was made.
This might be an enormous second in Group E… 👀
Jose Callejon wins a penalty, Dries Mertens dispatches it to put Napoli 1-Zero up.
Harsh? Or right name? 🤔 pic.twitter.com/pWuhrzJL0b
— Football on BT Sport (@btsportfootball) September 17, 2019
‘We conceded a penalty that doesn’t assist, I noticed it now and I don’t suppose it was a penalty and I do not know, it’s tough,’ Klopp instructed BT Sport.
‘For me it’s clear and apparent it’s not a penalty, as a result of Callejon jumped earlier than there was any contact, however we can’t change that.’
Klopp added in his post-match press convention: ‘I’m fairly positive there are completely different views on the state of affairs, however when a participant jumps earlier than there’s contact, then it can’t be a penalty.’
Former Liverpool striker Michael Owen agreed that it wasn’t a penalty, however solely after viewing the replays.
‘As soon as they touched I thought it was a penalty,’ Owen instructed BT Sport. ‘As quickly as I noticed it on the replay I believed “I’m not so sure.”
‘His proper leg. he drags it after which drags it into Robertson.
‘On balance I think it’s not a penalty however you possibly can’t blame the ref as a result of as quickly as I noticed it I believed it was a penalty, after which VAR couldn’t show it wasn’t.’