Sports

Steve Smith ruled out of Lord’s Test and a doubt for third Ashes match after Jofra Archer blow

.
Steve Smith has been ruled out of the Lord's Test with concussion
has been ruled out of the Lord’s Test with concussion (Picture: Getty)

Steve Smith has been ruled out of the remaining of the second one Ashes Test at Lord’s with concussion.

The Australia batsman needed to depart the sphere on day 4 after being struck at the neck via England bowler .

Smith, who scored dual heaps in Australia’s 251-run win at Edgbaston, returned to the crease however simplest added 12 extra runs earlier than being brushed aside via Chris Woakes for 92.

Due to Smith being ruled out with concussion, Australia are allowed to call a complete substitute and Marnus Labuschagne will take Smith’s position within the workforce for the remainder of the match.

.

.

Labuschagne scored 1,114 runs for Glamorgan in ten County Championship suits previous within the season.

According to Sky Sports, Smith awoke this morning feeling dizzy and affected by a headache.

A commentary from Cricket Australia learn: ‘Despite the unlucky nature of what has came about, the certain is that the concussion protocol, together with the supply of the concussion exchange, which has been not too long ago introduced in has served its goal.

‘A participant is now not below power to take the sphere when she or he presentations signs of concussion and a facet isn’t deprived having misplaced a participant to a blow to the top or neck.

‘Cricket Australia is proud to have been leaders in this area, having introduced concussion substitutes in domestic cricket and worked with the ICC to introduce them in international cricket.’

.

.

To Top